Introduction
Using ZenTransfer for team workflows
How to work with a team or multiple users in ZenTransfer.
Last updated 2026-05-25
On this page
Photographers may need to work in teams to get the job done. ZenTransfer can support both multiple photographers working on the same assignment, and also facilitates for editors and clients to be part of the team.
Roles in ZenTransfer¶
A ZenTransfer account belongs to the individual that created the account. Multiple users can be invited to use the same account:
- Account owner has account ownership and is responsible for the subscription and payment for all activity in the account
- Team members can be invited via email, and get their own user account on ZenTransfer. A team member can access content and configuration, but not invite other team members or change the subscription.
- FTP Users can be created to allow multiple photographers to ingest files via FTP using their own credentials
- Clients receive files via gallery share links, email links, or shared cloud folders
- Guest Users can be invited to upload to the account via a link
There is no additional cost for adding users to your ZenTransfer account. Activity from all users will be billed towards the account owner.
Multi-user access¶
ZenTransfer is designed for multiple users working together on the same account, at the same time. All users will see all activity on the account in the Monitor, be able to add and edit Galleries. The Browser is designed as a real-time collaboration tool. Any change performed by one user (e.g. rating or metadata edits) are broadcast live to all users that have the Browser open.
Inviting team members¶
To invite a team member to your account, follow these steps:
- Click the Manage Team button in your Dashboard
- Enter their e-mail address and click Send Invitation
- ZenTransfer will send an email with an invite link
Accepting a team invite¶
If you receive an email with an invitation to ZenTransfer, follow these steps to join the team:
- Click the link to accept the invitation
- Accept or edit the email address you want to use for your account
- Verify your email with a one time password
An account in ZenTransfer is associated with a single team. If you need to join multiple teams, use a unique email address for each account. Many email providers lets you use plus addressing, so myname+kale@gmail.com and myname+carrot@gmail.com are both delivered to the same myname@gmail.com account.
Removing a team member¶
To remove a member from your account, follow these steps:
- Click the Manage Team button in your Dashboard
- Find the team member in the list of Members, and click Revoke
Their account will be removed. Any content this member has uploaded or edited in your account remains.
Adding additional FTP users¶
While Team members have full access to your content and configuration, FTP Users only have access to submit content to your account. Their content will relay to all destinations you have enabled (as for your own uploads).
It is better to create accounts for each user than to share your primary credentials. This lets you revoke one users access withour needing to reconfigure any other gear.
To create additional users for upload, follow these steps:
- Go to your Dashboard and expand the Upload section
- Click the Manage Users button
- Click Create FTP User to add a new account. ZenTransfer will automatically create a username and password for you.
- Use the Notes field to differentiate between accounts
You can temporarily disable an account by toggling it on/off. Click Delete to permanently remove the account.
